A staging site is a completely independent site from your live site. Making changes to your live site will not affect your staging site and making changes to your staging site will not affect your live site.
That is the beauty of a staging site, you can break it all you want, it will not have any effect on your live site unless you were to push those changes using the 'Push to Live' button.
Log in to your BigScoots Console using this link.
Once you’re logged in, click Websites from the top menu to access your website settings.
Select the domain from the list for which you want to create staging website.
Now click on Manage Environment .
Since there is no staging site created for this domain yet, click the + icon next to Create New Staging.
Next, enter the admin login details you want to use for the staging site. You can also choose to password-protect the staging site. We recommend keeping it password protected so it is not publicly accessible. Then, click Continue.
Next, choose whether you want to copy the media directory to the staging site or use the media files directly from the live site.
Include uploads – This option creates the staging environment and copies all media files to the staging site as well.
Exclude uploads – This option creates the staging environment while using the media files from the live website.
We recommend using Exclude uploads, as it helps save disk space while still allowing the staging site to use the media files from the live site.
Creating the staging site may take a few minutes, depending on the size of your website. If you would like to be notified once it is ready, click Got it, notify me when ready. Once the staging site is ready, you will see a notification in the Notification Center.
Once the staging is created, you will see it listed under my websites section.
Pushing to Live
Warning!
'Push to Live' will completely overwrite your live site. This does not push only changes you've made on your staging site, it completely overwrites your live site with your staging site.
If you were to publish a new post on your live site AFTER you pushed your live site to the staging site, this post would be lost if you decided to push your staging back to live thereafter.
Access your staging site under Websites and click Manage Environment. You will see a visual comparison of your staging and live sites. Click Continue to proceed.
On the next screen, review the available options and click Continue to proceed. Before pushing the staging site live, make sure to create a manual backup of the live site as a safety precaution.
Pushing the staging site to your live website may take a few minutes, depending on the size of your site. If you would like to be notified once it is complete, click Got it, notify me when ready.
Pushing to Staging.
Access your live website and click Manage Environment. You will see a visual comparison of your live and staging sites. Click Continue to proceed.
On the next screen, choose whether you want to copy the media directory or use the media files from the live site. Once you have selected your preferred option, click Push to Staging to continue.
Include uploads – This option creates the staging environment and copies all media files to the staging site as well.
Exclude uploads – This option creates the staging environment while using the media files from the live website.
Pushing the live site to the staging site may take a few minutes, depending on the size of your website. If you would like to be notified once it is complete, click Got it, notify me when ready.
Congratulations! You’ve successfully created a staging environment for your website through BigScoots Console.
If you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to contact our team via live chat.
For technical inquiries, please feel free to reach our support team by emailing help@bigscoots.com from your registered email or by submitting a support ticket.
















